Book Review ~ TWILIGHT

“About three things I was absolutely positive.  First, Edward was a vampire.  Second, there was a part of him – and I didn’t know how dominant that part might be – that thirsted for my blood.  And third, I was unconditionally and irrevocably in love with him.”

 

                                                   Cover Image

Twilight, by Stephenie Meyer, is a story about a seventeen year-old girl named Bella, who moves from the Valley of the Sun to the cold, dreary, rainy yet beautiful Olympic Peninsula in Washington State.  There she starts to make a life with her father Charlie and the kids at the local high school where she joins as a junior.  There, Bella meets Edward Cullen and the Cullen family and her life is never the same again.  After a scary and almost life ending accident she realizes that Edward is not like herself.  He has strength and speed unlike anything she has ever seen before.  Bella puts the pieces together with the help of an Indian reservation myth and little hints and discovers that gorgeous Edward and his beautiful family are actually vampires, but not in the way that we are familiar with.  They have been able to change their diet to animal blood instead of human blood. 

 As Bella’s friendship with Edward grows they realize (very suddenly actually, but remember this is a vampire story) that they are deeply in love with each other and that they can never be apart again.  Due to a terrible case of klutziness, Edward becomes Bella’s guardian and vows to keep her safe forever.  Little do they know that that will mean safe from a “tracker vampire” later on. 

 This book was an amazing read and I thoroughly enjoyed every word of it.  The mystical atmosphere that this book brought over me in the last six days has been wonderful.  I found myself reading during any free moment I had.  I didn’t watch much television and I didn’t surf the web much because I was reading.  The character development was well paced and the plot was strong.  I felt that the school scenes were right on and I found myself reminiscing about high school and the boys who I dated over my four years at Paint Branch.  I remember being as boy crazy over one in particular as Bella was with Edward in the story.  He was mysterious, romantic, interesting, brilliant and not what I was expecting either.  He broke my heart but I don’t regret the experience.  

I am very excited about reading the rest of the Twilight series and finding out what happens to Bella, Edward and the Cullen’s.  I have also been watching the trailer and behind the scene footage I have come across online.  The movie, Twilight, will be in theatres on December 12th, 2008. 

 

If you have read this book, please take a moment to share what you thought of it and if you haven’t, will you read it before the movie comes out or just wait for the movie?   

 

 

 

 

{5 out of 5 stars}

4 thoughts on “Book Review ~ TWILIGHT

  1. It’s a good thing you liked it, or you would have opened yourself up to beatings from the Twilight fanatics. ;D

    I’m a bit so-so about the books. I find them very addictive, but not actually that great. I’m still going to read the next one when it comes out, though.

  2. I have some across a few unfavorable reviews of the book. I really enjoyed it for the entertainment factor and I enjoyed the characters immensly. Thanks for commenting!

  3. Did you think the movie trailer is like the book? You will like the rest of the books too, they only get better:)

Leave a comment