There’s no stopping me now!

I finished “The Memory Keeper’s Daughter” this morning. I had discussed this book with my friend Rene earlier in the week when I  was a the half way mark.  At that point I was not too impressed with the story so far.  I felt that it was hard to believe that I had read so many pages already and felt that there wasn’t much happening.  Well after the trip to Aruba the story sure picked up and I couldn’t put the darn thing down.  I liked it much more than I had earlier in the book.  Things started to finally happen between the characters and to the characters on their own. 

Some posts on other blogs were from people who thought the the book should have been much better than is really was.  I can agree with that for the first half but the second half really reeled me in and kept me there till the end.  I sometimes feel that authors have a need to wrap up unraveled ends quickly and end the darn thing before it hits too many pages and though I did feel that way with this particular book, I was happy with the way most of the story was brought to a close.  I will not spoil the end for you if you haven’t read “The Memory Keeper’s Daughter” yet but I will say that there are a few twists and turns that made me gasp out loud or cry out and make my hubby look up form whatever he was doing at that moment and make sure I was OK. 

Now I am on to “The Year Of Magical Thinking” and I am happy with it so far.  I just finished chapter two and feel that the telling of the author’s year of magical thinking is about to start.  I fear the emotion that this book may churn up within me and I might not let my husband and dog leave my sight while reading it and maybe forever after finishing it.  Whatever happens, I am excited that I’m reading books that spark my interest and get me thinking. 

2 thoughts on “There’s no stopping me now!

  1. Stephanie says:

    I didn’t care for The Memory Keeper’s Daughter when I was reading it for my on-line book club (before I changed it only to a book review blog}. I just didn’t find the writing very compeling.

  2. Planet Books says:

    Steph… I agree with you about the writing but the story did pick up at the midway point and I was on the edge of my seat with wonderment. I couldn’t imagine how the author was going to possibly wrap up this tale in a nice bow or if it would be a very messy ending. I wished it was a better read and feel that the author could have done so much more with it.
    Thanks for stopping by and leaving your thought!
    -K

Leave a Reply

