Book Review ~ The Year of Magical Thinking (Was It Really THAT Magical?)

The Year of Magical ThinkingOctober’s book was “The Year of Magical Thinking” by Joan Didion.  I finished it last week and though the story was a good one, the “magical thinking” aspect did not really grab me.  I understand that it was more of a way for the author to record the most terrible year of her life and recount the thoughts and actions that kept her going.  I can’t imagine having such tragedies hit so close together (though her daughter did survive). 

I wasn’t a big fan of the author’s writing style and had a hard time staying with parts of the book.  I would be interested in seeing the play of this book.  To hear the words and see the actress would probably make the tale a bit more meaningful to me. 

I suppose you might think that I didn’t like this book.  I did relate to the part about John believing that they weren’t having any fun.  I believe that if you don’t try to make the best of everyday, be it get your to-do list done, take a moment to enjoy the breeze, play with the family pet or enjoy a few pages of your book that one day you will wonder where your life went.  What did I really do?  I will keep it on my shelf and if tragedy affects my life I will hopefully find the words to be helpful in the way that the author intended them. 

I’m curious to know what you thought of this book.  Please share your review and thoughts on “The Year of Magical Thinking”.  Good, bad, bored, loved it, whatever. 

One thought on “Book Review ~ The Year of Magical Thinking (Was It Really THAT Magical?)

Leave a Reply

