“The Pillars of the Earth” is a Pillar of a Book

I finally received my copy of Ken Follett’s “The Pillars of the Earth” this morning.  I’m still a little surprised with myself that I am reading an “Oprah Book Club” book at the time it’s The book club book.  So far there’s been a hanging, a cursing, and a stampeding war horse and I’m only on page 28.  I have 945 more pages to go!  I found myself interested in this book because of the time setting being in the Middle Ages.  I find this period very romantic, dangerous, cold, and wonderful. 

Are you reading anything “trendy” right now?  Trendy meaning something that a lot of people are reading at the same time?  Like “Eat, Pray, Love” or something on the New York Times Top 10 Best Seller List? 

I did order Ruth Reichl’s first memoir “Tender at the Bone: Growing Up at the Table” and look forward to checking out the beginnings of the present Gourmet Magazine Editor In Chief.  I did read an excerpt from “Tender at the Bone” and laughed my butt off so I’m pretty excited about reading the book.  Did reading “Garlic & Sapphires” inspire you to check out some of Reichl’s previous memoirs and/or Gourmet Magazine? 

3 thoughts on ““The Pillars of the Earth” is a Pillar of a Book

  1. Whoa, 945 pages!! That’s a serious commitment of time! Will you be taking it on the plane when you come home for the holidays?

    I’ve read Oprah picks as they were happening (when they were “THE” book). When the Oprah book club first started I kept up with if for awhile.. The Deep End of the Ocean being the first. I also read The Book of Ruth, Stones From the River, and The Pilot’s Wife at the same time as Oprah. Then I sort of fell off the Oprah wagon. I think I hit a couple in a row that I didn’t care for and that was that. I read The Road before Oprah did and was very interested in the Cormac McCarthy interview (I think he’s extremely overrated).

    I’m currently reading We Need to Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver. I’ve had a couple bad dreams because of it (maybe reading it right before bed isn’t the best idea). It’s good, but really different and quite disturbing, if you’re a mom.

    I doubt I will read more of Reichl, not that I didn’t like G & S, but because I’m not much of a ‘foodie’.

  2. I am now a third of the way through Atonement by Ian McEwan, which the movie version to be released in theater’s next week (so I guess that’s kind of trendy, right)?

Leave a Reply

