Checking In

“The Pillars of the Earth” is still very good. I’ve been so busy in the recent days that the only time I’ve been able to find to read has been just before falling asleep at night. As I read it I find myself very interested in reading Follett’s suspense thriller material too. He keeps the information coming and you grow very invested in the characters lives.

What are you reading right now? Is it something that is in time with the season we are approaching or is it something that has been on your TBR list for a while now? Something new that arrived in my mailbox last week is David Sedaris’s “Holidays On Ice”.  It’s a great little book (really, it’s a small 3/4 inch thick book) with six of Sedaris’s Christmas stories. 

From the inside cover:  “Holidays on Ice collects six of David Sedaris’s most profound Christmas stories into one slender volume perfect for use as an emergency coaster or ice scraper.  This drinking mans’ companion can be enjoyed by the warmth of a raging fire, in the glow  of a brilliantly decorated tree, or even in the backseat of a van or police car.  It should be read with your eyes, felt with your heart, and heard only when spoken to.  It should, in short, behave much like a book.  And oh, What a book it is!”

HILARIOUS!  Sedaris is the author of “Me Talk Pretty One Day”, “Naked” & “Dress Your Family In Corduroy and Denim”, just to name a few.  His sister is Amy Sedaris of “Strangers With Candy” fame.  This little book will be joining me on the pilgrimage home for the holidays this month (among others).

  Stories

6 thoughts on “Checking In

  1. Oh, you just reminded me that I purchased that same David Sedaris book a my library book drive a while back – I will definitly have to pick it up to get into the holiday spirit!

    Right now I am smack dab in the middle of Atonement, which is REALLY GOOD!

    BTW, have a wonderful trip back home to Silver Spring (see how I got it right this time)!

  2. Hey Steph!! Too Cute! We are very very excited to get to Silver Spring & Fairfax, VA. Rocky won’t have to go in the kennel and we are so relieved. Some friends here on island are looking forward to having their “Grandpuppy” with them over the holidays. Whew!
    I don’t know that Holidays on Ice gives a sugar cookies and mistletoe holiday feeling but it sure looks funny.
    Chekc ya later!
    XOXO-K

  3. Holidays on Ice sounds really funny! I’m trying to get into the spirit of the season with a book called Finding Noel, but it’s not that great, unfortunately. The writing is very simplistic (I would guess maybe 3rd grade level) and it’s very predictable and sappy. I’ll finish it, but Holidays on Ice sounds more my speed.

  4. I am still listening to Garlic & Sapphires and reading in hand Midnight’s Children by Salman Rushdie. I am determined to finish the Armchair Traveler Reading Challenge. Here’s hoping I can make the cut!

Leave a Reply

