My Must Have Reading Matierial

We are counting down the days till we make the long pilgrimage home for the holidays next weekend.  I have been busy preparing things that I need to bring with me such as gifts for friends and family, craft projects I have to finish there becuase that’s where the Joann.com order is being shipped to, the iPod playlists, and reading material for the flights/airports.  Though I have some Ambien for the long flight from Tokyo to Chicago (Okinawa to Tokyo and Chicago to D.C. are each only 2-3 hours) I have heard stories of the Ambien not working and if that happens to me on the long flight I need to be prepared.  I am still reading “The Pillars of the Earth” but am hoping that my December issues of Elle Magazine, Vanity Fair next weeks New Yorker arrive in time for me to take them.  Each time I go to the store I have to turn away from VF & Elle and remind myself that my copies are on their way. 

There was a book I flipped through a few years ago called “So Many Books, So Little Time: A Year of Passionate Reading” by Sara Nelson.  Nelson is now the Editor-In-Chief for Publishers Weekly.  Sara challenged herself to read a book a week for one year (2002).  She says that people asked the same question all the time.  “How do you choose your books?”  She wrote, “Less than a week into my project, I can now tell them the beginning of the truth.  I don’t always choose the books, I’ll say.  Sometimes the books choose me.”  I completely share this belief.  Due to what you are experiencing in your life at any given time can influence what you choose to read. 

So Many Books, So Little Time

I have an idea for a “project” of my own and will post about it soon but for now, I would like to ask you this question:  “Can you make it through the week without picking up a book and reading even a little bit?”  I sure can’t!  It would be impossible in the place I am in, in my life right now.  I love to read, learn and explore our literary world.  I have always loved to read and hope to always love and enjoy this wonderful gift we as humans are given. 

8 thoughts on “My Must Have Reading Matierial

  1. lisamm says:

    No, I can’t get through a week without picking up a book. I can’t remember the last time I went a day without reading!

    Have a safe trip! Are you taking a laptop, or is this going to be a blog-free vacation??

  2. Planet Books says:

    We’re bringing the laptop so I will be blogging when I can as well as working on the newsletter I do for an organizations here on island. I am excited to go to Borders in person, though the prices are much better online. Just to be surrounded by the books and to be in a store I spent a wonderful and fun year working in will be lovely. (I worked in the White Flint (Rockville, MD) Borders store in ’97 – ’98 and this store is one of Borders’ flagship locations.)

  3. Planet Books says:

    Yes! I will post the voting tool on Friday, December 28th. I don’t know yet what theme I will be selecting from yet. I had gotten a suggestion for books written by bloggers and have found a few titles under that criteria. Have a suggestion?

  4. Planet Books says:

    That’s a funny one. I don’t always do themes but it does make it easier to select the four to vote from. I may go to the Top 10 lists found at Amazon, NY Times and Wash Post and select from there. I’m still brainstorming though.

  5. beastmomma says:

    A good book to read on a long flight is A Suitable Boy by Vikram Seth. If you cannot sleep, it will mesmorize you. Plus, the chapters are VERY short which makes it easy to read in short spurts. I end up reaidng a lot for school every week; I try to at least listen to a bit of audio book or read one page of pleasure reading a week.

    For the Jan theme, another idea of themes could be books about a resolution. Books that tracked an experiment that the authors tempted such as the one you have featured here about reading a book a week, there is also one about not buying anything made in china, and one on eating only food that has been grown within a 100 miles of home. I am not sure if that makes sense, but it would be fun to read about people accomplishing their goals as we all begin our New Year’s resolutions.

  6. Planet Books says:

    Great idea! I actually know of another book that falls under that. Thank You!! I will begin my researching this week so I don’t have to worry about it while at home. Are you flying home for your winter break? Sis and hubby are going to be in MD for Mom’s B-day through X’Mas. First X’Mas all together in five years I think and first one where we are both married.

Leave a Reply

