Reading Update

Hey there!  Are any of you reading “My War..Killing Time In Iraq”?  Well I’m almost finished and it has been a great read.  I was wondering how long Buzzell was going to go without being censored by the Military and oops… it has happened.  But they still LOVE the posts and the writing. 

I am going to rent the last discs of Showtime’s “The Tudors” today and I can’t wait to see what happens.  It is such a fantastic show!  So well done and well acted.  The costumes are stunning and I would love to get s dress like Anne Boleyn or Princess Margaret for the Renaissance Festival when we live back in the states.  I can dream can’t I? 

So if you aren’t reading along with me what are you reading?  Is it any good and would you recommend it?  Please let us know.

6 thoughts on “Reading Update

  1. beastmomma says:

    I got off to a slow start with reading this book, but I like it very much. I have been distracted by trying to feed my addiction to the book Wind Up Bird Chronicle. Also, I tagged you for a meme in the Reading Section of my blog. Please participate 🙂

  2. lisamm says:

    I’m currently reading The Girls by Lori Lansens. It’s pretty good. I started it then had to put it down to read a book for my bookclub, and then I was slow to pick it back up again. It seems like I’ve been reading it forever and I just want to finish. Not that it isn’t good. I just want to start something else, kwim?

  3. bkclubcare says:

    Hi, I’m on pg 241 of MyWar:KTII. I find myself skipping through the weapons acronyms and my language surprise-to-me! has spiced up. I actually dropped the f-bomb and shocked myself. DIRECTLY attributable to Colby Buzzell.

  4. Planet Books says:

    Unfortunately I have the vocabulary of a Soldier, Sailer & Marine all rolled into one. I try to catch myself but it does get difficult. I have found that while reading the book, I know a lot more about the military than I thought I did and watching AFN spots (there are no commercials on the Armed Forces Network) has taught me a thing or two. That’s why after living in a heavy military community for two and half years so far, I was surprised that Buzzell’s blog wasn’t a victim of censorship or plug pulling sooner. Though as I’m reading I learned that the time clock for his blog was only about ten weeks out of a year long diployment.

  5. Planet Books says:

    So did I!!! If you would like to share your review with us that would be great. I’ll work on my review this weekend and get it on here by Monday. I will wait till the middle of February though to post questions about the book in case we have some straggelers and since PB is now a bi-monthly book club and this book counts as the Jan/Feb book.
    I finished it yesterday and started The Other Boleyn Girl before bed last night.

Leave a Reply

