Today’s Favorite Song

I hope you are enjoying this new feature here on Planet Books.  I love love love music and I get so much satisfaction in sharing it with others.  After responding to one of your comments I was inspired to share a bit about some new music I’m listening to.

The other day I heard a song by Duffy, a new artist to U.S. soil and decided to check her out.  I went to her MySpace page and there I was pleased to discover a few songs from her upcoming album.  After listening for a while I was trying to decide if I liked her voice or not.  I have come to the conclusion that she has a good voice, piercing at times, but the technique in her sound is so clear.  I like the style of music that is coming out of the U.K. right now starting with Amy Winehouse.  I think that because of Winehouse’s bad run of luck and poor choices this new artist, Duffy, will fill the void with American fans looking for more of that vintage soul sound that is being replicated with a new twist right now. 

Here are a couple of tunes/video’s by Duffy.  The second video was made while recording the track “Syrup & Honey“.  I have spent time in recording studios and I absolutely love them.  This video makes me long for the opportunity to record one day again. 

Leave a Reply

