Sunday Salon ~ Matrimony aka Roller Coaster

Today was spent doing a mix of things.  I got some reading in right after sunrise, went to a birthday party at the beach, dropped off “The Wire” season 1 for friends, made myself dinner and watched Carrie Underwood’s induction into the Grand Ole Opry. 
The hubby is off to another part of Mainland Japan for a few days and had to leave at dawn to catch an early flight so when falling back to sleep didn’t work I picked up “Matrimony”and got some more read.  I’m almost done but I don’t want to discuss too much of the book right now because it’s Planet Books’ selection for May/June and I want to save my review for that.  I am pretty happy with the book though.  It’s extremely character driven, which I’m not entirely used to in the books I read, but I do like the twists that the lives of Henkin’s characters take.  I was surprised by most of the big twists and am curious to learn how Henkin’s wraps things up.  If you are reading this for Planet Books, let me know what you think so far. 
After I finish “Matrimony” I’ll have to figure out what will be next for my reading enjoyment.  I have a lot of books on my TBR shelves and though I picked up a couple of good looking titles at the PX this morning, I put them back on the bookshelf instead of adding to my stack at home.  I need to revisit my Borders.com Wish List and get a few off of there before looking at new titles. 
What are you reading on this lovely Sunday?  A book (“Matrimony”), the paper, blogs, magazines, nothing?  Drop a line and let me know what you are up to today.  Have a great week and I’ll check ya later!
UPDATE
I finished Matrimony last night (Sunday) before bed.  Pretty good!  I was happy with how Henkin’s wrapped things up but not into a perfect little bow.  As some other bloggers have said in their reviews, was this autobiographical?  Was Julian Joshua Henkin?  If I ran into him and his family on the streets of NYC would there be him, his dark haired wife, their little boy and a dog?  It makes you wonder about some other books you may have read in the past and if the author took their life and just tweaked it a bit to make for good fiction.  All in all I think if you haven’t read “Matrimony” for Planet Books, I recommend it.  I would recommend it even if you weren’t reading it for PB! 
6 thoughts on “Sunday Salon ~ Matrimony aka Roller Coaster

  1. ravenous reader says:

    “Matrimony” is a new title to me, so I’m off to look up more about it. I noticed in one of your previous posts that you recently got a copy of Nineteen Minutes. Have you read it yet? I found it enjoyable, although disturbing.

    I had to smile at your comment about wondering whether the main character of a book is really the author in disguise. I often think about that, too!

  2. Planet Books says:

    Ravenous~I am starting Nineteen Minutes today. I am curious on how this story will happen. I lived in Denver, CO when Columbine occured April 20th, 1999 and I can remember the news coverage and going to the memorial with my friend Kristen like it was last week.

    Lisa~Yeah, we’ll wait till the end of June to do the discussion on Matrimony. I know that seems like forever from now but maybe we’ll get more participants because it’s bi-monthly instead of monthly.
    The pic in my header is of a hanging art pice by the glass sculpter Dale Chiluly. http://www.chihuly.com
    This pic is of one section of a massive hanging piece in the Lincoln Center Square foyer in Bellevue, WA.

  3. bkclubcare says:

    >>I was surprised by most of the big twists and am curious to learn how Henkin’s wraps things up.<<

    Yes, I remember that same feeling…

    I have an idea – maybe we should generate some questions now and then DRAFT our answers in a post to be posted later (I love that feature of WP but not all of us use this platform.) That way we could all have a deadline of the last week in June to look forward to? and still remember, maybe.

    Two books I have up for reading next are The Book of Air and Shadows by Michael Gruber and Never Let Me Go – Kazou Ishaguru…

Leave a Reply

