Sunday Salon ~ June 15th

I didn’t really get a lot of reading done today.  Yesterday morning I finished Phyllis Zimbler Miller’s “Mrs. Lieutenant” and I whipped through those 486 pages in three days.  I will be writing my review tomorrow and posting it here by Tuesday (my time). 
Sail
Today I started James Patterson’s latest thriller, “Sail“.  The catch phrase on the cover says, “The Perfect Vacation Has Become The Perfect Nightmare”.  It’s about a mother who takes her three troubled children on a two month sailing cruise out in the Atlantic with the aid of her former brother-in-law.  Her husband had drowned in a scuba accident a few years before and after remarrying, she was feeling distant from her kids so thought that sticking them on the family sailboat for the summer might help unite them again.  So far her plan isn’t working at all. 
I haven’t read a James Patterson novel in years and I’m remembering why.  It’s like watching a blockbuster movie that everyone has waited for with great expectations and you want to like it but so far you’re wondering why you spent $20 on the DVD.  I’m hoping that it picks up otherwise it may end up back on the shelf. 
What do you think of James Patterson novels and other big named authors who crank out what seems like fifty books a year?  Have you hung in there as loyal fans or have you moved on?  Do you mind the same formula no matter what the story line and if the characters change or do you read the books because they are like an old friend and entertaining?  I guess I like the variety that reading different authors gives me.  I know that when you read my blog as the summer goes on and you see that I’m reading the Twilight series you may call b*&l s$%t on me but keep in mind that Stephenie Meyer admittedly writes those books as an story arc and not sequels.  It’s one big story that is too long for one book to contain. 
8 thoughts on “Sunday Salon ~ June 15th

  1. Don’t like formulas, it’s an excuse for a writer to crank out the same crap over and over again, no growth of talent or vision just reassuring sameness. I’ve always been baffled why readers find a one-note author an attractive notion. I prefer to be challenged as a reader, have my preconceptions altered and regular mindset thrown for a loop. Authors who don’t consistently raise their work to another level are hacks…no respect for their readers or the legacy of fine fiction that precedes them…

  2. I am still working my way through Patterson’s early books and so can’t comment on any of his recent ones. He’s not the best writer, but he can write a suspenseful story. I don’t mind formula writing (I love genre fiction, after all), but I do expect an author to take that formula and make it their own. I also find that it helps to mix up my reading so as I don’t get burnt out or grow too tired of one type of book. I like variety. I also like the comfort of familiarity sometimes too.

  3. I read one Patterson book, a long time ago- “Kiss the Girls”, and I liked it a lot as airport reading but I wouldn’t read him again- just not my thing. I’m kind of a book snob I guess! I’m not crazy about formulaic books- it makes me feel like I’m being resold the same product over and over. He’s good at what he does, though, gotta give him that! 🙂

  4. The only Patterson book I’ve read was for a reading group and I think we all felt the same – we could have done better. How is it that you can recognise a formula when you meet it even if you haven’t read anything else in the series?

  5. I’ve only read and finished one Patterson book. Beach House. It was ok, but after that when I try to read more from him, I just can’t get into it. But I’m impressed that you ripped thru Mrs. Lieutenant in 3 days! Did you sleep?? lol

  6. I stayed up way too late last night … started _Mrs. Lieuenant_ and just kept going! I’ll have to check out your review after I post mine (no, I’m not finished with the book yet); it seems we both found it very engaging.

Leave a Reply

