Book Review ~ SAIL

Summary: “Since the death of her husband, Anne Dunne and her three children have struggled in every way. In a last ditch effort to save the family, Anne plans an elaborate sailing vacation to bring everyone together once again. But only an hour out of port, everything is going wrong. The teenage daughter, Carrie, is planning to drown herself. The teenage son, Mark, is high on drugs and ten-year-old Ernie is nearly catatonic. This is the worst vacation ever.  Anne manages to pull things together bit by bit, but just as they begin feeling like a family again, something catastrophic happens. Survival may be the least of their concerns.  Written with the blistering pace and shocking twists that only James Patterson can master, SAIL takes “Lost” and “Survivor” to a new level of terror.”

Sail

“Sail” was not the book that I read about above.  Maybe I went in slightly skeptical and not wanting it to be very good, but it really ended up not being very good.  I never connected with any of the characters and plot lines so it was hard to be committed.  I think I probably could have read “Sail” in three days but instead I wasn’t turning each page with anticipation and at a “blistering pace” so it took me a long five days to finish it. 

Anne Dunne takes her not so happy children out on a summer sailing trip on the family sailboat, “The Family Dunne” (pronounced DONE).  She has remarried since the untimely death of her first husband to Peter Carlyle, Esq.  Carlyle is a shark of the legal world but he may also be the ‘shark’ that tries to end the lives of his new family.  The sailing trip is lead by Anne’s former brother-in-law, Jake Dunne.  After some unfortunate ‘accidents’ in the first few days of the trip on “The Family Dunne”, a storm of tremendous fury takes the boat on a rip roaring trip that takes the family further into a perilous vacation. 

With some side steps to build up the character of a DEA Agent as well as to shed light on the darker side of perfect Peter Carlyle, Esq., the story fails to deliver any real ‘shocking twists’.  I will admit that I gasped after reading one twist that I didn’t quite see coming, but for the most part I felt let down by the “#1 Thriller Author In The World”.   

I used to enjoy the books that James Patterson cranks out and back in 2001 I even attended one of his book signings but for the life of me I can’t remember which book he was promoting.  My signed copy is in a storage unit outside Memphis, TN.  I had come across a question on a book blog in my on-line travels that had asked if you think your reading preferences change over time and I think they do.  I’m not talking about before the age of twenty-one for myself but I find that my tastes have changed a bit in my twenties and now into my thirties.  I still like to read best sellers but not necessarily the self-promoting blockbusters.  I read this book based on the summary I read above which was taken from Amazon.com.   

If you are interested in a light read to get from one airport to the other on then I will recommend this book to you.  If you are interested in reading something substantial and memorable than I would advise against “Sail.” 

{Rating 1 out of 5}

2 thoughts on “Book Review ~ SAIL

  1. Thanks for the review, I’m always on the look out for a light read while traveling. It’s never good to try and read anything heavy when you’re trying to get from place to place so this one sounds perfect.

    I found your blog while looking for books on sailing, actually. Ever since I read Lawrence Pane’s book, Chasing Sunsets, where he, his wife and young son set off on a 6 year circumnavigation of the globe I’ve been mad keen to read anything about sailing – even fiction stuff like the book above! Who knows, maybe one day I might even get to go off sailing around the world myself!

  2. Thanks for stopping by and checking out Planet Books Peter! Good name by the way… same as my husband’s.
    I dream about having a sail boat and ask the hubby once a year or so if we will ever get to own one. He always says, “Maybe.” I’ll keep crossing my fingers.

Leave a Reply

