Sunday Salon ~ July 20th, 2008

                              
It’s Sunday already!?!  Wow, this week sure did fly by.  I have been suffering from a terrible case of bronchitis this week/weekend but because of it I got a lot of reading done.  I should be wrapping up KEEPING THE HOUSE today.  This book is just amazing!  There is so much going on but I have never once felt lost within all the storylines and characters.  I will be posting my review within the next couple of days.  It’s going to be a daunting task because there is so much I love about this book.  I told the hubby last night that KEEPING THE HOUSE is right up there with MIDDLESEX as some of my favorite reads over the last few years. 
Are you reading anything that you thought may be something else and has turned into one of the best things you have read in a while?  Or, are you reading something that isn’t what you expected but not in a good way? 
7 thoughts on “Sunday Salon ~ July 20th, 2008

  1. To the questions: yes, this week I started to read a book, “Spanish bride”. It’s about the wife of the famous Hungarian writer and psychologist: Geza Csath (he was a morphinist, he killed his wife and them himself in 1919), so they say. But it is a mix of the imaginated life of that woman, and the life of an average girl/young woman living in the Yugoslavia in the 80’s. One chapter is about either the next is about the other character. The idea is great, the book is stupid.

    I found The Glass Bead Game by Hermann Hesse quite boring.

    Good experiments in the last some mounths: a Rumanian novel: Little Fingers by Filip Florian, it was surprising good
    and Sara and Simon by Erich Hackl, I didnt know anything about the author before, no I think, he writes very interrsting story on a very interesting way.

    cheers, Anni

  2. I’ve been writing today about those books that you just can’t seem to get into but when you do they turn out to be absolutely great. For me, it was ‘Possession’ that stood out most strongly in that respect.

  3. OOo Ann Darnton – is that the one by Byatt? I think I might have to read this…

    To answer the posts questions, no and no. not lately, anyway.

    Hope you feel better!

  4. I have to admit that I was more than a little leery about my current read, 3 Aces by Richard Ide. It’s billed as a romantic suspense, and I honestly didn’t believe that when it was suggested to me that men could do romantic suspense and actually get the romance right. But I’m happy to say this has turned out to be one of the best books I’ve read so far this summer, and I’m really glad I picked it up.

  5. A few weeks ago I read an ARC of Katie Arnoldi’s The Wentworths and it was not what I expected, to say the least. I didn’t care for it at all. BTW, I posted my review of House & Home the other day and included a link to your review as well.

    Hope you’re feeling better!

Leave a Reply

