Our Everchanging World Of Reading & Books

A few interesting conversations are going on around the country right now about reading and books.  With the shift being made over at the L.A. Times in the book review department the question is being posed, “Is the printed book review losing the popularity contest to on-line book reviews such as blogs and on-line professional publications?” 

Are our humble little book blogs a threat to such great publications as The L.A. Times?  Now that the L.A. Times has published it’s final stand-alone book review section, only three newspapers have stand-alone book review sections that are printed; the Washington Post, the N.Y. Times and the Chicago Tribune.  You can read or watch more about this discussion HERE on PBS’s NewsHour. 

In the N.Y. Times Opinion section this morning, there is a collection of letters to the editor about what constitutes reading now a days.  Are you reading when the words are on-line?  Are you only reading when it is a piece of literature?  There are some interesting points being made HERE

What are your thoughts on these two topics?  Do you take pride as I do in your own book blog?  Do you respect and admire the bloggers whose book blogs you frequent and take into consideration the opinions that people like you and me have on books that are vying for your attention and money?  I think we live in a very exciting time when everyone can have a voice and be heard.  Knowing that people are taking their time to read what I have to say and leave comments is a huge thing and an immense compliment to me intellectually.

6 thoughts on “Our Everchanging World Of Reading & Books

  1. beastmomma says:

    I do love my blog very much. I think that the way books are being brought to our attention is changing. Blogs influence what I think I may like; I enjoy getting other writer’s perspectives. I also feel really happy when I see comments on the entries I have created.

  2. anniegirl1138 says:

    We had the debate often as reading teachers. The purists felt that fiction was the only really valid reading in terms of establishing skills and building on them. However one of the complaints we often received from the business world and high schools/colleges is that we spent so much time of fiction students couldn’t manage non-fiction/texts which make up the bulk of workplace related reading.

    I am of the mind that any reading one does is good. It is best to read a varied diet of written materials, but the problem in North America is that we are alliterate for the most part. We possess the ability and through disuse become very poor readers. Reading is a skill. Use it and bulk up. Ignore it and it shrivels.

    I enjoy book bloggers. I like to read about new titles. But I am one who reads the book section of my paper too.

  3. Darcy says:

    I very much respect the bloggers who keep up my favorite sites. I’ve read some really great books because I’ve found people who have such similar literary appetites to my own. That’s the one thing you don’t get from print reviews. Their commitment to fair and impartial reviewing across a wide spectrum means that the reviewers don’t end up serving –my- individual interests as well as certain bloggers do.

    I’m very proud of my own book blog even if it is such new little creature. It’s allowing me to connect with even more people that share many of the same passions. The number of blogs I’m subscribed to has doubled since I started it. I’m also learning so much about the industry I love.

  4. Lisa says:

    Karen – very interesting post!
    Darcy – I couldn’t have said it better myself. I feel the same way about book blogs and even my own lil blog.

  5. Stephanie says:

    Thanks for posting a link to the article about book bloggers. I am very proud of my book blog and have SO MUCH fun using it as a creative outlet for myself. At the end of a long day it is really nice to sit at my computer and write (and read other blogs).

Leave a Reply

