Sunday Salon ~ August 10th, 2008

Hello fellow Sunday Saloners!  Well it sure has been a busy weekend in the news.  From the U.S. Olympic team racking up the medals to the awful and horrible stabbings in Beijing to a not so perfect politician from North Carolina and a war brewing in Eastern Europe, it’s been a weekend for watching television. 
 
I have managed to find time to do some reading and am about halfway done with Judith Marks-White’s chick-lit romp, Bachelor Degree.  I’m going to try to get a bit more read this evening  Having just woke from a nice nap just now, I feel refreshed and ready to go. 

We’ve got a great book giveaway going on here at Planet Books running through next Sunday.  You can check that out HERE.  Also, earlier this week I asked the question, “Are you finding a common theme throughout the settings of your books this summer?”  I am reading the seventh book this year which is set in New York City.  What about you?  Have you been a frequent “armchair” flyer to a common destination?  Check out my post about it HERE

Last week I asked what people thought about the way we read and how it’s changing in our world today.  Between technologies and the Internet, reading material is everywhere but can reading on-line mean the same as reading a hand-held book?  Check out my post and share your opinion HERE
I am curious what your favorite Summer Olympic event is?  I have been following the Michael Phelps story myself.  He’s a Maryland boy who is just remarkable and having grown up in MD myself, I’m partial to his success.  I also like the gymnastics events.  I asked my acupuncture/massage therapist what events he would be watching and he said Women’s Judo and Women’s Marathon.  Apparently Japan has great athletes in both events. 

3 thoughts on “Sunday Salon ~ August 10th, 2008

  1. My boys and I have been following Phelps, too – this is the first Olympics that my kids are really old enough to appreciate. I’m amazed that I still tear up every single time an American wins a gold and our anthem is played. Sappy, I guess.

  2. I’ve been following the Olympics off and on this weekend as well as the news in Eastern Europe. I can only imagine what the athletes from that part of the world must be going through right now–trying to concentrate on their performances while worrying about what’s happening at home.

    I took a little nap today too and am ready to sit down again with my book. First I need to move the laundry. I had almost forgot it was time.

    Have a great week!

Leave a comment