Sunday Salon ~ August 17th, 2008

How did I get here already!  It just seems like I was posting a Sunday Salon two days ago, not seven!  I’ve been a reading fool this past week.  I read I Wanna Be Your Joey Ramone by Stephanie Kuehnert and I absolutely loved it.  You can check out my review HERE.  I am also running a giveaway contest for two signed copies of Anisha Lakhani’s debut novel, Schooled, until tonight, Sunday August 17th at Midnight EDT.  You can check it out and enter HERE.  I will be using Random.org to select the two winners and Anisha will be personalizing them as well as mailing them.

Planet Books has also been graced with guest posts from two authors this week.  Marcus Sakey’s new novel, Good People, just came out in stores on Thursday, August 14th and he stopped by to talk about his book and what he’s reading this summer.  You can check it out HERE.  Also, The Summer of Naked Swim Parties author, Jessica Anya Blea wrote a laugh-out-loud guest post for Planet Books.  You can read it HERE.   

As you may have noticed this month is flying by.  Hell, the summer must not have happened because I can’t believe it’s almost over!  How many of you are taking part in Planet Books’ July/August book club and reading The Great Man by Kate Christensen?  Well, I’ve finally gotten around to picking it up and to tell you the truth, it isn’t grabbing my attention like I hoped it would?  Have you finished it yet?  What did you think or what do you you think so far if you are reading it last minute too?  I will continue to try to get into The Great Man but I am curious if I’m the only one struggling with this book?

If you aren’t reading The Great Man, then what are you reading today?  Anything good?  Anything I should avoid?  Please let me know.  I love being nosey and checking out what y’all are reading!

6 thoughts on “Sunday Salon ~ August 17th, 2008

  1. Beautiful Witch says:

    I’ve listed the books I’m reading in my Sunday Salon post – glad to know I’m not the only one who thinks the week goes quickly and I’m left looking around sadly and thinking “Where’d all my reading time go?” Will def check out your reviews!

  2. anniegirl1138 says:

    I have been so busy with house renovation projects and swimming lessons and my own writing that the newspaper (The Globe and Mail) and blogs have been about my only reading for the past two weeks. I have Blindness to tackle and have only a few pages to show for it. Bad me.

    I don’t have time to try your book club this time but perhaps once the girl is back in school. What is the next title?
    Hi Annie! I’m not sure if I’m going to be continuing the book club part of my blog after this book. My book review gig has really taken flight and I’m loving all aspects of it. I know it’s only one book club book every two months but it was challenging this time to pull myself away from these amazing ARC’s. I’m still trying to decide.
    XO-K

  3. literaryfeline says:

    The summer really is flying by, isn’t it? These next two weeks will probably really drag because they fall right before my own summer vacation.

    I’ve heard nothing but good things about Anisha’s book Schooled. It does sound like a good one.

  4. Ti says:

    I am not reading The Great Man. I must have missed that post. I just finished The Lace Reader (loved it) and now I am reading Mister Pip and The Madonnas of Leningrad. I have to read them both at the same time because they are for two different clubs that meet within the next couple of days.

Leave a Reply

