Sunday Salon ~ September 7th, 2008

This week hasn’t been a productive reading week for me.  I am still working on Allison Winn Scotch’s Time of My Life.  For some reason this book hasn’t grabbed my attention like previous titles and it’s been challenging for me to sit down and just read it. 

In the mean time I’ve been working on making our Christmas cards for the upcoming holiday season.  I am so excited with how they have turned out. 

      

Yesterday I signed up for Audible.com.  My friend Rene thinks I’m crazy enough as it is with all the reading I do but I thought it would be nice to start listening to books in the car while I’m driving around the island and getting stuck in traffic.  I also like the fact that Audible.com links to iTunes and I can easily sync my iPod with my audio books.  I know iTunes sells audio books as well but they are much more expensive there and their selection is minimal compared to Audible.com.  I’m doing the one book credit a month program for now and after almost an hour of hemming and hawing over which book to get I finally decided on Special Topics in Calamity Physics by Marisha Pessl.  I will start listening to it tomorrow while running errands. 

Do you listen to audio books?  If so what are some of your favorites?  Do you choose one audio book over another because of the voice of the reader (if you are able to listen to samples) or do you not care about that?  Being a new audio book listener I would love some recommendations.

7 thoughts on “Sunday Salon ~ September 7th, 2008

  1. Your cards look awesome! wow! Audio here in Okinawa, no, stateside yeah! When we lived in G’burg (Gettysburg, PA), they had a great selection of audio. So on the drive from G’burg to Freddie (Fredrick, MD) we would listen. Then, we (my husband) would talk about the audio books later..we would trade off..that was before itunes….so I am going to check out Audible.com. Sometimes the reader’s voice would totally turn me off of the book – I like when the author reads it, best.

    Oh, I finished the 4 books you loaned me ; )

  2. Those cards are gorgeous. Best I can manage is the dreaded “holiday update letter” in a store bought card.

    My husband listens to books but I haven’t been able to. I need the book in my hand and the words in front of me.

  3. I’m very impressed with your Christmas cards. I often think audiobooks might be a good idea and my parents love them, but I think I’d prefer the written word – sometimes my mind wanders and it is easier to pick up where you are on a page than wind back I think.

  4. First, you’re already getting Christmas cards together? Whoa. Super impressed.

    Second, audiobooks: I’ll be honest that I have tried, but never really got into any. The Wife and I, though, did listen to a BBC radio production of The Lord of the Rings one Christmas we visited N.C. on a 12-hour trip from Pa.

  5. I love listening to audiobooks – it means I can “read” while doing mindless tasks like washing dishes and folding laundry. Some of my favorites have been:

    The Mitford series by Jan Karon
    Pirates! by Celia Rees
    The Pacific and Other Stories by Mark Helprin
    One for the Money by Janet Evanovich
    Blasphemy by Douglas Preston

  6. I make cards too. Yours look FABulous!

    There are certain books that I always reach for in audio format. Suspenseful, thriller type books are usually what I pick-up for a long drive.

    I don’t think I could listen to a contemporary novel as an audio book. It has to be something that grips me so it holds my attention.

    I love Dean Koontz on audio or Nelson Demille. Also like Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child.

Leave a Reply

