Sunday Salon ~ September 14th, 2008

This evening AFN (Armed Forces Network) aired the USAA “America United In Support Of Our Troops” special which aired in the States last Sunday on ABC.  It was great seeing a special drawing attention to the men, women and families who give so much to our great nation every day.  At a time of year when patriotic emotions run strong in our country due to the now seventh anniversary of the terrorist attacks on the United States, it was nice to see that positive attention was being brought to our armed services. 

Living over here in Okinawa and being dependant on the U.S. Military for so many things has opened my eyes to a life that I didn’t know anything about four years ago.  Now some of my best friends are some of the strong and brave military spouses who sacrifice so much of themselves for their country.  One of the interviews on the USAA special was the spouse of a Marine Corps pilot.  She said that she loves our country because she gives her husband to us on multiple deployments and that some would call her a hero, she believes that she is married to one.  And she is. 

Just a reminder that a great organization is out there to help bring support to our troops and their families.  It’s called “America Supports You” and you can learn more about them at http://www.americasupportsyou.mil/

Now on to what I read this week.  I finally finished Allison Winn Scotch’s Time of My Life for a book review I had to write for BookBrowse.com.  I was a disappointed with this book and thought it could have been so much better.  I will be posting my review here later this week. 

Now I am reading Driving Sideways by the darling Jess Riley.  What a fun, well paced and enjoyable book!  I am almost halfway done and find myself laughing out loud constantly as I’m reading.  This week I will also be hosting another giveaway.  I just have to choose which of four books I have waiting to giveaway will be the lucky title for this week.  I’ll let you know soon!

What are you reading this weekend?  Now that school is back in session for the kiddos, do you find yourself with more time for reading and the stuff you really like to do for yourself or are you even busier?  I don’t have kids but most of my girlfriends do so the social calendar has been busier over the last three weeks and continues to fill up as we get further into fall.  Well actually here in Okinawa its more like an extended summer.  The temps don’t start to drop till the end of October here.

2 thoughts on “Sunday Salon ~ September 14th, 2008

  1. anniegirl1138 says:

    Finishing up A World Made by Hand by James Howard Knuslter, the author of The Long Emergency.

    It’s not bad. The story is set about 15 or so years after the world has run out of crude oil and the U.S. has devolved back to the local regions that characterized its beginnings. There is no electricity and basic services are gone. Epidemics and violence have greatly reduced the population and global warming has set in for real with summer stretching from May to October with temperatures baking the people in the stories setting of upstate New York.

    There are a few slow spots but generally the plot rings true and the main character is quite likable and creditable as a narrator.

    Next up are the novels of Helen Humphreys. She is a Canadian and I have read her book of short stories about the River Thames. It was great. AfterImage will be my first read. Oh, and I have to read Naomi Wolf’s Misconceptions in my quest to round myself as a feminist:)

  2. Lisa says:

    I LOVED Driving Sideways! I laughed so much while reading that book! I’m glad you’re enjoying it too! I just finished MUDBOUND by Hillary Jordan. It was very good. Now I’m reading OUT STEALING HORSES by Per Petterson. I don’t have kids either, but I still struggle to find extra reading time between working 40 hours a week and all the regular chores that have to be done. Does it ever end?? lol

Leave a Reply

