Book Review & Giveaway ~ Time of My Life by Allison Winn Scotch

This Giveaway Concluded On Friday, September 26th @ Midnight EDT 

Summary ~ If you could live your life over again, what would you change?  One woman finds out in this funny and poignant tale of what-ifs and second chances.  Jillian Westfield has the perfect husband, the perfect baby, and the perfect lemon-scented house in the suburbs, and yet, still, she finds herself wondering about the life she left behind.  Back then, her boyfriend, Jackson, was unreliable, her job at an ad agency was demanding, and her West Village apartment wasn’t exactly picturesque.  But those days were full of possibility.  Now, discontented in her faltering marriage, Jillian can’t help but think about what her life would be like if she hadn’t married Henry or quit her job to be a stay-at-home mom or spurned her mother’s attempts to reconcile after two decades of silence.  What if she’d stayed with Jackson in their bohemian apartment?  What if she’s answered her mother’s query?  What would her life be like now?

One morning, Jillian gets a chance to find out.  She wakes up in the old apartment, right in the middle of her life as it was seven years ago, before she’d made the decisions that would change everything.  With twenty-twenty hindsight, Jillian has the chance to discover “what if” once and for all – and to decide which life is the one she really wants.

What would you do if you daydreamed about your old life to the point that you were given the chance to relive it for a second chance at happiness?  That is what Jillian, the protagonist of Allison Winn Scotch’s upcoming release, Time of My Life, is faced with. 
Sure we are always seeing the greener grass on the other side of the fence of life but we are in the life we are in because of the paths we chose that brought us here.  Sometimes I wonder how I got here.  Here being in a fun, loving and loyal marriage; living in Okinawa; having great friends literally all over the world and being as happy and busy as I am.  But some days I wonder what would have happened if I hadn’t taken that temp job in Hubby’s building and met him, if I had stayed in Denver ten years ago and not run home to Maryland full of homesickness.  If you don’t have moments of wonder and reminiscing than you just aren’t human.  It is human nature to always wonder, “What if?”

Allison Winn Scotch replaces Jillian in her past seven years back.  Into a relationship with the man she still wonders “what if” about when her marriage to Henry doesn’t feel shiny and perfect anymore.  In her old life she is a mother of an adorable little girl, the wife of a overworked husband who she pushes away when he is home because he’s just in her way, and a desperate housewife who is always going at full speed in order to make life seem perfect and desirable from the outside looking in. 

When Jillian ends up seven years in her past after a freak chi experiment administered by her gorgeous massage therapist Garland she wonders if this is her second chance at being happy.  Jillian discovers that she is still in a relationship with Jack (the love that took place before her relationship with husband Henry), is still living in their New York City apartment and she is still working in her old advertising job.  Well, when you know what happens things can happen a little more smoothly the second time around.  Promotions happen faster because Jillian knows what “Coke” wants in their ad campaign before they do and a tumultuous relationship that ends like a car wreck on the Brooklyn Bridge is suddenly saved and enjoyed because the land mines are clearly marked by memories of what happened last time when that fight was picked. 

The underlying story line in Time of My Life was the relationship, or lack there of, between Jillian and the mother that deserted her and her family when she was just a child.  After discovering that this woman who haunted her in both the future and the past is just a stones throw after all this time, Jillian begins to realize what may have caused her mother to leave all those years ago.  The fears that Jillian faces as a mother herself are overwhelming and terrifying at times and when she looks back and actually moves towards a relationship with her mother, she begins to understand.

But after all the fun and wondering if this is really a second chance or just a freak of nature/time space, Jillian starts to realize what she thought she wanted and regretted were not in her past but right in front of her in her “real” life. 

Time of My Life was an okay read but for some reason it didn’t grasp my attention like I wished it had.  I don’t know if it was the books concept or the voice of the main character, Jillian, that bored me.  I wanted to enjoy this great idea of a woman who appears to time travel (still don’t know exactly what happened, if Jillian actually stepped backwards in time or was just dreaming) and gets a second chance with one of her great loves as well as the opportunity to rebuild a broken relationship with her own mother.  I wonder if I was just reading it at the wrong time for me?

{Rating: 3 out of 5}

TIME OF MY LIFE will be available in stores on October 7th, 2008.  Allison Winn Scotch is also the author of THE DEPARTMENT OF LOST AND FOUND.  You can learn more about Allison at her website  www.AllisonWinn.com.  Allison also has a great blog at http://www.allisonwinnscotch.blogspot.com/

*I received an Advanced Reading Copy of TIME OF MY LIFE from www.BookBrowse.com in return for my written review on their website. Because it’s BBAW (Book Blogger Appreciation Week I thought it would be great to do another book giveaway here.  If you would like to win my Advanced Reading Copy of TIME OF MY LIFE, please leave a comment on this post by Monday, September 22nd @ Midnight EDT to be eligible. 

53 thoughts on “Book Review & Giveaway ~ Time of My Life by Allison Winn Scotch

  1. Well, well, I think that I walk in Jillian’s shoes on a daily basis. I am very curious to find out “What if”? Please enter me for the giveaway, I think that it will make for a very interesting read.

    Cathy

  2. Hmm….I would like to read this. I don’t have too many ‘what ifs’ but there are a few. Will be interesting to see how someone else’s plays out.

  3. I think a lot about how great it would be to have a “rewind” button. I’d love to read someone’s take on it.

    Thanks for the contest!

    nbmars AT yahoo DOT com

  4. I don’t think I would ever want to go back for a “do over”. I like where I am right now, even if the road to my destination wasn’t all sunshine and roses.

    Please enter me though.

  5. Hey Karen! Excellent review. You don’t have to enter me, b/c I was lucky enough to read this about a month ago. It’s such an interesting premise…I particularly liked the friend character (I think her name was Meg?)

  6. It does sound like an intriguing story. I know I sometimes wonder where I’d be now if I’d made different choices along the way. So I’d love to have my name in for a chance to win. Thanks.

  7. Well this is another book going on my Wish List. I, too, have often wondered what my life would be like if I had made different choices in the past. Thanks for doing the giveaway!

    jgbeads[at]gmail[dot]com

  8. wonderful review! There are SO many things i wish i could go back and re-do but then other things probably would’nt have happened but i’ve often thought of that myself! I would love to entered in this contest This is going on my wish list.
    photoquest(at)bellsouth(dot)net

  9. Ooooh, more book giveaways! Thank you so much! My fingers are crossed for this great sounding book. 🙂

  10. Haven’t we all had those what if moments…be honest?!?! I know I have. Even though I like where my life has taken me, I still have those what if moments. This really does sound like a good read!

  11. I like it… I’ve always wondered what if? to see it in action will be interesting!

    ;}

    -theDizzy

    etwilight @ yahoo .com

  12. This sounds like a really interesting book and I’d love to win your copy. Enter me: awalworth19(at)gmail(dot)com. thanks for the giveaway!

  13. Sign me up please!! I swear I already signed up for this but I don’t see my comment so just to be sure.. here I am again.

    thereedfamily[at]sbcglobal[dot]net

  14. Who doesn’t occasionally wonder What if? I think this sounds really interesting. Please enter me, and thank you for the chance to win!

  15. ditto on the great review, and I always like a good cover to back it up:) enter me please and thanks !

  16. I love the concept of this book. I know there are times I wish I could have the chance to change things. I would love to win this book so thanks for the giveaway and the chance.

    waitmantwillie(at)hotmail(dot)com

Comments are closed.