Sunday Salon ~ September 28th, 2008

Okay folks, I am not ready for October and the end of the year that are waiting for us on the other side of this weeks hump.  I feel like time has sped up to a breakneck pace in the last couple of months and it is FREAKING ME OUT!  My to do list seems never ending, not to mention my TBR ARC stack. 

This past week I’ve been reading Ad Hudler’s upcoming release Man of the House.  It is a refreshing read of a novel about a guy who has reversed roles with his wife and is the stay-at-home parent in their family.  He has a teen daughter who is his pride and joy, a wife who works too much but because of her job makes it possible for him to stay at home in their new home town in south Florida and renovate the house he wanted for that very reason.  It’s interesting to read a character who is the minority in the pick-up line at his daughter’s prep school and is a fish out of water when it comes to macho, testosterone fueled hobbies and work.  He is happiest in his kitchen, which he has been displaced from due to renovations, cooking and creating great dishes for his family.  So far I am enjoying this fresh look at the American family and I like Ad Hudler’s story telling style. 

What are you reading this weekend?  Are you reading Oprah’s new book club pick or are you reading something so far from the mainstream that most of us book bloggers wouldn’t even be familiar with the title? 

9 thoughts on “Sunday Salon ~ September 28th, 2008

  1. Hey – I agree the year is flying by – yesterday we we saw advent calendars and Christmas gifts in the store!

    I’m reading Anne’s House of Dreams by L.M. Montgomery this weekend – I’m working my way through the series and am really enjoying this one.

  2. I am trying to finish the 700 page The Meaning of Night for my book club meeting next week. I am liking the story and the writing but I waiting way too long to get to to this and am having a hard time catching up.

    We went to the mall yesterday and there were Christmas decorations up. Yep! Everything seems to be flying this year. Why is that??

  3. I’m reading The Heretic’s Daughter and The Shadow of the Wind, two books not exactly brand spanking new but good enough. I have Edgar Sawtelle hanging around but haven’t started it yet!

  4. I’ve been seeing things about this new book called DEWEY about a cat in a library in Iowa and I just watched a story about the book and the cat on CBS Sunday Morning. Now I want to read that book too!

    I am looking forward to my trip home to D.C. for a friend’s wedding at the end of October so I can go sit and wander in Borders, B & N, Kramer Books in Dupont Circle and Olsen’s Books. Just to be surrounded by new books is so intoxicating! I may have to pick up DEWEY.

    Also, I had won a copy of THE GARGOYLE by Andrew Davidson a few months ago from http://www.BookishRuth.com and recently I heard a sample of the audiobook. I loved the audiobook reading so much that I bought it on http://www.Audible.com and will read along on my 12+ hour flight from Tokyo to D.C. (YUCK!)

  5. I started Dennis Lehane’s The Given Day this weekend. I’m not that far into it but I’m enjoying it so far. It’s an interesting look at race, class and politics in 1918/1919 Boston. I read Shutter Island a couple of years ago and was quite disappointed, this one seems to be much better.

Leave a Reply

