Sunday Salon ~ October 19th, 2008

Well, I had written a pretty good post for this Sunday Salon but something happened and I lost the post.  I am pretty bummed out and now don’t feel the same creative juices flowing as I had earlier.  I’ve been working on making more Christmas cards this weekend so I haven’t really been reading much.  When I am reading though, it’s from Candace Bushnell’s new release, ONE FIFTH AVENUE.  It’s pretty good so far and I am enjoying the characters and where the story is going. 

Today I went to Torii Beach on Torii Army Base in Yomitan, Okinawa for a beach/birthday party.  It was a spectacular day and though I had been worried about the storm clouds that did burst earlier in the day, they stayed away this afternoon and a brisk, warm yet cool breeze kept everyone cool in the sunshine. 

This coming week is pretty busy as I prepare for my trip to D.C. for a friend’s wedding.  I leave in nine days for a two week visit which will fly by so fast I’ll be back here in our study blogging again before I know it.  I’m not looking forward to the 12+ hour flight from Tokyo to D.C. but have set aside my copy of THE GARGOYLE that I won this summer in a book giveaway.  I also splurged and bought/downloaded the audio version because it sounded so good, so I can read along with the narrators.  I’m also hoping for good in-flight movies too. 

I also have a few books waiting for me at my folks house in Maryland that arrived over the last week.  Some publishers won’t mail packages unless they can use their own shipping vendor, which proposes a challenge for my situation.  Because we live in Okinawa and have an APO address, the only way things can be mailed to us, without shipping and paying internationally, is to use USPS and preferably Priority, unless you want me to get the package in two months.  So in the cases of a Fed Ex account or UPS, my parents have agreed to receive books on my behalf and then ship them on to me.  It takes a bit longer but it is better than losing out on reading and reviewing a book here and there.  So I have a few titles waiting for me when I get to the East Coast in a week.

What are you reading this weekend?  Is it a review copy for your blog or another, or is it a book you bought and have been looking forward to reading?  Did you participate in the 24 hour Read-A-Thon yesterday or did you barely find time enough to check e-mails, let alone read a book?

4 thoughts on “Sunday Salon ~ October 19th, 2008

  1. I am currently reading Infidel for my book club but tomorrow I plan to start Edgar Sawtelle which I broke down and bought.

    Hope you have a nice trip. Can’t wait to read about what books were sent to you.

  2. No read a thon for me. I finished The Lost Garden the other night and have two other books by the author to work on now. Mostly I am trying to catch up on my blogging: my own site and two others I contribute to.

  3. I participated in the Read-a-thon even though I slept for seven hours. I read quite a bit. I was happy with the results. I am debating what to read next. I want to read Cyndere’s Midnight by Jeffrey Overstreet and A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith. I need to make headway on a few challenges that I am scared I am not going to finish. 🙂

  4. No Read-A-Thon for me either. I barely found time to read yesterday! My current book is Tomato Girl sent to me by the author. I love her writing style and the story is getting more and more interesting with each page. I’m sorry you lost your post – I hate when things like that happen!

Leave a Reply

