Sunday Salon ~ January 18, 2009

The winter blues have hit me full force here in sunny but chilly Okinawa.  2009 will present many changes for my husband, our dog and me.  We are supposed to move back to the states this year; we are planning to purchase our first house and a second car when we get there; and we probably will be living in the same area as our parents for the first time as a married couple.  It’s these pending events, though they won’t happen for a few months yet, that have me reading a lot more.  Call it hiding in a book or avoiding responsibilities like starting the on-line house hunt that is causing me to distract myself with other things.  I am not feeling ready for these big changes even though we are both looking forward to living back in the U.S.

To add to my “cranky pants” attitude, (that’s what Hubby says to me when I’m in a bad mood.  “Oh, you have your cranky pants on again, don’t you.”  It always makes me smile when he says that.), I am wishing we were back in our hometown of the D.C. Metro area this weekend for one of the most historic moments in our nation’s history which will occur on the National Mall this Tuesday.  I know we’ve been hearing about it on all the news channels for weeks now and talk of the events seems to be in high gear as we near the big day, but I am so jealous of all those people who will be freezing their asses off without me.  AFN (Armed Forces Network television) will be airing the coverage live starting at 12:00am Wednesday morning and you can bet I’ll be up watching as much as I can. 

I am still reading American Wife this week/weekend and actually find it fitting to be reading a book that is said to be loosely based on Laura Bush, President Bush and some family members and friends of theirs as The President wraps up his days as the 43rd President of The United States of America. 

I also started to listen to the audio-download of Barack Obama’s book, The Audacity of Hope this week on my iPod while I am in the car.  The President-Elect narrates and it is interesting and ironic to listen to Obama share about his experiences as a U.S. Senator and talk about visiting the White House and how big, old and “probably drafty in the winter” it is. 

Are you reading anything that can be related to the Innauguration this weekend?  Are you going to be in D.C. as a present witness to history or will you be watching the festivities from the warmth of your family room and your favorite seat? 

6 thoughts on “Sunday Salon ~ January 18, 2009

  1. I couldn’t help relating to your reading to avoid things. I had a really rough patch through September almost to Christmas and I found losing myself through books helped me cope. They also stopped me reaching for the biscuit tin, thank god. I feel sorry for people who don’ t read often, they really don’t know what they are missing.

  2. I too know all about losing on-self in a book as a way to avoid things. I wish you luck with your pending move. I freak when trying to figure out how to move from one town to another in the same state. I can’t even begin to imagine when moving from the other side of the world would be like.

  3. The best way to lose yourself, is to lose yourself to a book. That’s what I always say. I know the upcoming months will be a bit stressful but they can also be very exciting. The act of house hunting is a pain but the idea of the finished product…now that can be fun! Find a house with a cool nook that can be turned into a reading nook.

    DC will be crazy next week and I am so glad that I will be watching it all from the comfort of a conference room at the university where I work. We are having a potluck breakfast and will watch it in HD.

    Just try to take things one step at a time and if you put your cranky pants on every once in awhile, that’s okay!

  4. I haven’t had a chance to get hold of The Audacity of Hope as yet. I’ve heard it’s good. I’ll be watching the inauguration from home (as I live in England!) Very exciting though..

  5. Books are definitely a great way to escape. I considered starting one of the Obama books I have in my TBR collection this weekend, but put it off because the in-laws were in town and I prefer to keep the peace in the house for all our sanity’s sake. I wish I could watch the Inaugural proceedings on Tuesday. I will be in a very boring unnecessary training all day for work though. I’ll probably catch the recaps when I get home from work.

Leave a Reply

