Sunday Salon ~ March 22nd, 2009

What a week!  I spent it in Hong Kong with Hubby and we had a great time.  I even had the chance to read a book on my new Kindle 2.0!  I read THE READER and now I can’t wait to see the film.  I didn’t mind picturing Kate Winslet, Ralph Fiennes and the other actors I’ve seen in previews in my minds eye as I read it either.  It wasn’t exactly a happy book but it was an interesting idea. 

Now I’m reading LITTLE BEE and am really enjoying the anticipation I’m feeling as the story unfolds.  The characters and their narrations are vivid and rich, though again, the topics aren’t very cheery.

What are you reading this week/weekend?  I’m looking for recommendations to load onto my Kindle!

5 thoughts on “Sunday Salon ~ March 22nd, 2009

  1. I don’t know why, but I’ve downloaded my Kindle with all the free classics. And, oddly, I’ve actually been slowly reading them! I’m finally getting around reading Great Expectations on my Kindle.

    I’ve noticed those free classic books for the Kindle too, but haven’t downloaded any yet. I may find myslef doing as you have done and just putting them on the Kindle and going from there.

  2. I haven’t taken the plunge and gotten a Kindle yet, but I did read The Reader a few weeks ago. I’m looking forward to the movie as well. Have a great week!

    I am so glad that I like reading on the Kindle so much. I don’t think it will be a novelty and the thrill will wear off. It is a great way to read those books that I don’t need to have on the shelf in my personal library but that I really want to read and have the option to go back and revisit at a later time.
    I’ll have to check out the DVD release date for THE READER since the base theatre hasn’t shown it yet here. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that it may still be in a theatre in the DC area when we move back in May though. Nothing wrong with seeing Kate Winslet in all her glory on the big screen and I can get the Hubby to go if I remind him… GIANT BOOBIES. :)

  3. oh boy…i got a box ‘o books in the mail this week (arcs and such) and picked ‘american wife’ by curtis sittenfeld as my first read. i’ve got a ton of stuff on the nightstand and need a few more hours in my day!!! thanks for stopping by my blog.

    nat @ book, line, and sinker

    I really loved AMERICAN WIFE. Be sure to check for my review here after you’ve read it. It moves quickly and was a great read. I love you CWG blog and was thrilled to discover you had started a book blog too.

  4. Loved The Reader when I read it years ago (haven’t seen the movie yet). I cannot WAIT to read Little Bee!

    So far I’m really digging LITTLE BEE. I’m curious to see what happens since I’ve tried to avoid any internet talk about this book so it remains a surprise.

Leave a Reply

