Monday Musings ~ March 23rd, 2009

Today’s MUSING MONDAYS post is about bookstores…

How many bookstores do you frequent? Do you have a favourite? If so, which one and what makes it so?

 

Living overseas has caused me to rely on Amazon.com for buying books but when I’m at home in the MD/DC/VA area, I am a loyal customer of the White Flint Borders Books, Music and Cafe in Rockville, MD.  I used to work at this store from 1997 to 1998 and due to the fond memories from this job, I never hesitate to go peruse this particular stores shelves.  Over a decade later, I am still close friends with some of the people I met while working there.   I will admit though that over the years, I find that I like the Barnes & Noble at Tyson’s Corner Mall in Tyson’s Corner, VA though.  Maybe it’s because when we go home to visit, we stay my in-law’s house which isn’t far from that mall. 

When in downtown DC, I love to visit Kramerbooks in Dupont Circle.  They offer a good variety of titles and I love the fact that it’s open (I think) twenty-four hours and also has a restaurant in the back called Afterwards.  Another local book store which is has a few locations in the DC Metro area is Olsson’s Books.  Their CD section used to be wonderful as well but I haven’t visited one since iTunes became a way of life. 

*I just  went to the Olsson’s website to make sure I was spelling their name correctly and I sadly discovered that they have closed all their stores and are filing for bankruptcy!!  OMG!  I just checked Kramerbooks to make sure the same hasn’t happened to them, and they are still up and running.  The independent bookstore is definitely facing problems in these tough times.

4 thoughts on “Monday Musings ~ March 23rd, 2009

  1. Mish says:

    I can’t help but worry about my favorite local bookshop, especially since I overheard the owner talking one day about needing to sell more books.

  2. Planet Books says:

    Caite~ No kidding, right? My folks frequent the White Flint Borders and Rockville B&N almost every weekend and I think that my dad gets one of those frappaccino-like drinks every time at Borders. I love to snack and read. It’s a bad habit that I cna’t quite break.

    Mish~ I couldn’t believe it when I discovered that Olsson’s had closed! I called Hubby into the study to see the site and he was disheartened as well. Though Kramerbooks and Politics & Prose are still open today, I hope they continue to thrive and the DC area doesn’t let the same happen to them. I can’t wait to get back there and throw them a little money by SHOPPING.

Leave a Reply

