Musing Mondays ~ April 13th, 2009

Musing Mondays (BIG)Today’s MUSING MONDAYSpost is about blog comments.

How do you respond to the comments on your blog? Do you try to email individually or comment on post yourself answering the comments above? What do you think is the best way to respond to comments and do you respond to all of them? Do you feel slighted if you don’t receive a response back from the blog owner? (question courtesy of Jenn)

This is a question I ask myself all the time.  I have made an effort to acknowledge the comments left on this blog as well as leave more comments on the others blogs.  I either leave a comment for each comment left or I leave a comment covering a few comments at once.  I wish I knew what the commenter preferred though.  Also, do they expect a response or not?

Sometimes I leave a ton of comments on other blogs and I have forget where I was the day before.  I would like to know if my comments were commented on by the blog owner but sometimes I just have to know that I put something out into the universe and a response is not needed. 

7 thoughts on “Musing Mondays ~ April 13th, 2009

  1. Lusty Reader says:

    This IS an interesting topic! I agree with you about leaving comments on other peoples’ blogs but then forgetting where so you can’t follow up with any further responses.

    If the other blogs are wordpress it’s easer, because your dashboard’s comments section will show when you comment on other wordpress blogs, but otherwise it is too hard!

  2. Lisa says:

    I have that problem too about forgetting where I was. I like the feature on Blogger that you can request an email whenever a comment is made to someones blog. If its something really importatnt I’ll do that. If I have a new visitor, I always go to their blog and thank them for stopping by. I forgot to mention that in my response!

    My Musing

  3. Ti says:

    I usually reply to a comment by email unless it’s a question that several bloggers have posted. Then that to me means a response is warranted on the blog itself.

    I am trying to post in both places but it’s hard!

  4. Beth F says:

    I have bloger set up to email me when someone comments on my blog — it’s great. Sometimes someone comments on an old post (a book review) and without the email notice, I’d surely miss the new comment.

  5. Planet Books says:

    This is a topic on a lot of our minds, isn’t it! Blogging is something that, unless you don’t care about reaching anybody, you have to work at and keep up with. It can be challenging when life throws curve balls and getting that time at the computer is hard to do, but the personal rewards are so worth it. As are the friendships that we develope somehow through words, time and loyalty.

  6. Literary Feline says:

    This is a great topic. I talked about it earlier this year on my own blog. I do try and respond to everyone’s comment on my own blog. I prefer to leave individual comments, but sometimes that isn’t possible or even practical and so I’ll do a group comment. I do like it when someone whose blog I’ve commented on responds–it adds a nice personal touch and I like the interaction. The response can come in multiple ways: a comment on my blog, an e-mail, or a comment on the person’s own blog. Whatever works best for them. I do know that it’s not always possible though. I think a person just has to do what works best for him or her.

Leave a Reply

