Sunday Salon ~ April 19th, 2009

This weekend the reading had to fall to the wayside with our pack-out this week but inventorying our books was a priority.  (I hope to participate in the next Dewey Readathon though.)  Hardcovers, trade paperbacks, mass market paperbacks, cookbooks, graphic novels, piano music books and craft books.  Of course the majority of the books we own are fiction and non-fiction so keep that in mind when I tell you that in our house in Okinawa (not counting what is waiting for us in our storage crates when they arrive in Virginia from Memphis, TN later this summer) we have 480 books.  WOW!!!!  480! 

Have you ever inventoried all of your books?  How many do you have or how many do you think you might have?  Be them purchased, won or ARC’s, is it close to 500 like us or is it even more? 

{Side Note:  We also inventoried our DVD’s and video games.  DVD’s (not counting discs within box sets and TV show seasons) came to 285.  Our video games, spread out over Wii, PS3, PS2 and XBOX totaled 65.}

3 thoughts on “Sunday Salon ~ April 19th, 2009

  1. It feels good to know that we have a record of all our books. Now I have to decide how to display them when we get our new house. Alphabetized, color coordinated or by size.

  2. I think I may have told you that my parents had my sister and I inventory part of their collection of books. We only got to about 1000 and the rest of the two walls never made it to the list. We were more focused on getting the video collection done, about 6 drawer filing cabinet and a four drawer entertainment center worth. Don’t forget multiple movies on a tape marked as #.1, #.2, and #.3. The librarian came out in the father on that one. But it did help when you went looking for something. And my parents have made a list for their cable tv now. Both numeric and by channel that way they can find their favorite channel at a glance. Yes, I’ll admit it….I’ll probably do it too once I get my own place. The cycle will continue………..

Leave a Reply

