My New Obsession

kindle2_01I love my Kindle.  I love it even more now that we are back in the good ‘ole U.S. of A.  One of the many cool features it has is the sample option.  When you go on Amazon.com via your computer or the Kindle, you can download samples of Kindle books, read them at any time and if you choose to buy the book, you can download it automatically.  I am noticing that the book samples are pretty long too; at least the first chapter.  Over the last two days I have downloaded twenty-six book samples and I can’t seem to stop.  I haven’t even finished reading Olive Kitteridge on my Kindle and now I have all these samples to read and I did it to myself.  I will continue to download samples till I go crazy!  I LOVE it!!!

If you or even if you don’t own a Kindle, do you/would you utilize this feature?  It will probably help save money in the end because you can decide if you want to own the book or not by reading the first chapter or so of the book.

4 thoughts on “My New Obsession

  1. Ti says:

    I’d be in trouble if I had a Kindle. My actual bookshelves are overflowing, my virtual bookshelves are overflowing and if I had Kindle I would be a sample whore. Sorry for the harsh word but it’s true.

  2. Planet Books says:

    I am totally a sample whore!! I love it Ti! Now I have been given MY SISTER’S KEEPER to borrow and read before I go with the loaner to see the movie version at the end of the month. :O

  3. Becky at One Literature Nut says:

    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE my Kindle & that darn “sample” option! I have as many samples right now, as books that are showing up in my library. You’re right in that it’s easy to check the books out before I purchase them. Actually, I can’t say that my book purchasing has increased that much because of Amazon. Sometimes I even just use that sample to decide if I want to go check it out from the library, so it’s a good preview, right? LOVE my Kindle and so glad to see another lover, not hater! 🙂

  4. Mary says:

    I’ve had my kindle since the K2 came out (end of Feb) and LOVE it! However, I have only sampled a few. In fact, I’ve only read one of the 4 samples. I need to read them soon. Otherwise, what’s the point, right?

    I still buy “real” books and borrow from the library. But I LOVE my K2 : D
    One thing I’ve noticed is that I seem to read faster on it. And after a couple of page turns I don’t even realize that I’m reading different. I didn’t expect that!

    Enjoy your kindle!

Leave a Reply

