Book Review ~ The Reliable Wife by Robert Goolrick

A Reliable WifeProduct Description from Amazon.com ~  

Rural Wisconsin, 1909. In the bitter cold, Ralph Truitt, a successful businessman, stands alone on a train platform waiting for the woman who answered his newspaper advertisement for “a reliable wife.” But when Catherine Land steps off the train from Chicago, she’s not the “simple, honest woman” that Ralph is expecting. She is both complex and devious, haunted by a terrible past and motivated by greed. Her plan is simple: she will win this man’s devotion, and then, ever so slowly, she will poison him and leave Wisconsin a wealthy widow. What she has not counted on, though, is that Truitt — a passionate man with his own dark secrets —has plans of his own for his new wife. Isolated on a remote estate and imprisoned by relentless snow, the story of Ralph and Catherine unfolds in unimaginable ways.With echoes of Wuthering Heights and Rebecca, Robert Goolrick’s intoxicating debut novel delivers a classic tale of suspenseful seduction, set in a world that seems to have gone temporarily off its axis.  

Sounds like a great book right?  I wanted to love it as much as some out there who’s reviews were so glowing.  I just couldn’t.  I’m sorry Y’all!  I just called Hubby at work and told him I finally finished The Reliable Wife and his response was, “Good.”  Ha Ha!  He knew how much I was struggling with it.  I told him, “I don’t blame the characters for it being a bad book.  I blame the author.”  I think that I would have liked the book if I had been younger, not as experienced in the “ways of love” and was still reading young romance novels but I’m not that girl anymore. 

The characters weren’t likeable.  Not a one really.  They were all so flawed and destructive!  The author spent forever describing things that didn’t have to be soooo drawn out to tell the story.  I really don’t have much more to say about The Reliable Wife.  It was a quick read so I told myself I would finish it and I did about twenty minutes ago.  Whew!

{Rating ~ 1.5 out of 5}

2 thoughts on “Book Review ~ The Reliable Wife by Robert Goolrick

  1. ahahaha, i was afriad to open your post from my google reader because i hated (i mean HATED) it too. ugh, maybe i should say hate (not very nice book blogger), but oh well. i “disliked it” for the exact same reasons. what horrible people and the ending was horrible. it just…stopped…no reasons given for why Ralph decided what he did.

  2. Oh dear……let’s discuss at more length Sunday, but I may decide to forgo reading this now. Not that I don’t want to give it my own chance, but I’ve noticed we have very similar reviews of books that we’ve both read. Well I really appreciate your honesty and at the end of the day, every book can’t be THE BEST BOOK ever, right?

    xoxo,

    LibraryLove

Leave a Reply

