Sunday Salon ~ Happy Easter 2010!

Happy Easter Sunday Saloners!  All in all this weekend was a busy one.  Today was family day at my in-laws with my parents and Hubby’s sis-in-law and our niece and nephew.  It was a nice afternoon and thanks to my mom-in-law dinner was delicious.  Yesterday Hubby and I celebrated our sixth wedding anniversary by catching Clash of the Titans at the movies and enjoying a nice dinner at Firebirds Rocky Mountain Grill.  Friday night Hubby and I helped one of my dear friends celebrate her birthday at Maggiano’s, which also happened to be the same Maggiano’s location where Hubby and I had our wedding rehearsal dinner. 

The Grapes of Wrath

Well, believe it or not I did find some time to start a new book on my Kindle!  I decided on John Steinbeck’s The Grapes of Wrath.  It’s a part of American literary history really.  I really enjoyed reading Revolutionary Road by Richard Yates last year and felt a sense of accomplishment when I finished it so I thought another literary challenge would be good for me.  

As I was reading in bed this Easter morning an interesting thought came to me.  I’m reading one of America’s greatest works of fiction on a futuristic/present day controversial reading device, the Kindle.  The Grapes of Wrath was published in 1939 and is set during The Great Depression.  I wonder what Steinbeck would think about where books are going today?  I wonder the same of  Henry Ford and what he would think of my Sangria Red Ford Escape.

It’s an amazing world we live in today and it just continues to evolve.  For example, Apple’s iPad was released yesterday to great pomp and circumstance.  They say it will change laptops forever!  I have to admit that I have been seduced by the iPad and daydream about owning one some day but for now my love affair with my Kindle and red Sony Vaio laptop are both going strong and haven’t faded in the year that I’ve had both.  But, I still hope to have an iPad one day.  What are your thoughts on the iPad and Kindle or other e-Readers?  Have you been seduced by technology?

 

 

2 thoughts on “Sunday Salon ~ Happy Easter 2010!

  1. lol! i was just at the apple store today (iphone needed a repair) and there were ooodles of people drooling over the ipad. i’m sure i’ll get one but will probably wait until the next generation or so…

    i have a kindle and adore it but haven’t had much time lately to use it. i plan to remedy that very soon!

  2. I tended to be a little clingy regarding my paper-books for a while (through the whole smartphone revolution, even as I leaned heavily on my smartphone for everything else). I think a lot of readers are like that; there’s something sentimental about that ole familiar shape to us. But I tried a free app on my Android called Aldiko recently and really enjoyed it. The version I have doesn’t come equipped with the most expansive library out there, but it has plenty of the classics, highly customizable settings so your eyes don’t end up fried by preset brightness. That one should be available to anyone with Android. It’s a good one, especially for a freebie.

Leave a Reply

