Sunday Salon ~ August 31st, 2008

I hope this long weekend has most if not all of you enjoying yourselves and getting some good reading in.  My thoughts are with the people on the Gulf Coast and in Cuba who are dealing with or are preparing for Hurricane Gustav this weekend.  Three years after Katrina, hopefully history will not repeat itself. 

On to business… I finished reading Kerry Cohen’s Loose Girl on Friday and will be posting my review along with a great guest post by Kerry herself in coming days.  I enjoyed it but not in a fun read type of way.  It’s serious, depressing, interesting and memorable reading that I think every teenager and early twenty year-old should read or be presented an abridged version of.  It definitely would have helped me out as I was growing up and learning about boys and myself. 

Yesterday I started Allison Winn Scotch’s upcoming release, Time of My Life.  So far it’s pretty good but it’s been hard to concentrate because of the holiday weekend and the little things that have come up.  Hanging out with the hubby, going to brunch this morning, our new purchase of Guitar Hero Aerosmith Edition and getting my ass handed to me by the hubby in a game of Scrabble.  How can you possibly win when he starts off the game with HEX and twenty-six points?!

Later today (tomorrow for me since it’s almost bed time this Sunday night) I will be hosting a book giveaway as I team up with author Joshua Henkin again.  His novel Matrimony just came out in paperback and Joshua wants to make sure someone wins a copy here at Planet Books. 

So, on that note, I bid you “good night” and I’ll see you soon!

3 thoughts on “Sunday Salon ~ August 31st, 2008

  1. I’m looking forward to your review of Loose Girl and your guest post from Kerry. I read and reviewed it last year. It’s good but disturbing, right? And I’m not sure I’d agree that every teenager/young adult should read it. I suppose as a cautionary tale it might have some value but it really doesn’t provide any answers or whatever. I wouldn’t want my teen to read it (assuming I had a teen- my kids are of the pre-teen variety).

Leave a comment