Sunday Salon ~ August 24th, 2008

Well it’s almost bedtime for this Sunday Saloner.  I finished another good book this evening.  The Summer of Naked Swim Partiesby Jessica Anya Blau.  A fun yet touching story of a fourteen year-old girl living in 1976 Santa Barbara, CA.  I will be posting my review later this week but for now please feel free to check out Jessica Anya Blau’s guest post titled Motherhood & Celebrity Penises HERE

*Regarding the winners of the Schooled giveaway from last week, I am still waiting for an e-mail from winner Carol Esovski.  If you know her please let her know that author Anisha Lakhani would like to get her signed book off to Carol soon.

Something else I did this weekend was finally give in and create a Facebook page.  I’m still new to how the whole thing works but if you are on Facebook, you can find me under Karen Brandt O’Connor.  Please add me as a friend if you like. 

This week is a busy one on the social calender and I am also starting Kerry Cohen’s Loose Girl.  I am looking forward to seeing what all the talk is about with this book and included with my review will be a guest post from author Kerry Cohen herself. 

This past week the pages of Planet Books have been graced by guest posts from Home Girlauthor Judith Matloff and The Art of Racing in the Rain author Garth Stein.  Check out Judith’s HERE and Garth’s HERE

Got anything cool going on at your blog?  Reading anything that is hard to put down or that makes you want to throw the book out the window of the Empire State Building?  Tell us about it!

4 thoughts on “Sunday Salon ~ August 24th, 2008

  1. Just reading the Joey Ramone book. It was a slow start for me for some reason but I am enjoying it. Thanks for the tip.

    Saw the dvd Running with Scissors. Hated it. Reminded me that the book is still sitting unread on the shelf and I need to get to it this fall.

    Over at my blog tomorrow, I have a short piece of fiction I wrote for a story start contest on another blog. Fantasy/futuristic with mythology undertones. I think I will work it into a longer piece and look for a magazine to send it to. If you have a moment, let me know what you think – I have never posted fiction before and am a bit nervous.

  2. Yes its “Trickster makes this world” by Lewis Hyde he is exploring different cultures model of what a Trickster is and what they do to drive cultural change. He argues that the convention breaker etc is necessary in helping us see the world differently. They steal the fire from the Gods etc. But then so what, it well known in organisational theory that you have personality types that are good at creating change or using chaos and those that are good at making and maintaining order. Also old hat in the awake yourself creatively world. So hard to put down no, ready to throw it out the window well not yet because when I describe what the ideas are its interesting, it when I read it then I get itchy reading eyes. My Holiday from Hell and Books from Heaven post.

  3. Hey Karen, go to your dashboard and go to comments, look up the original comment from your winner (what’s*her*name) and you’ll see her email address there.

Leave a Reply

