Sunday Salon ~ September 21st, 2008

Where did this weekend go?!  That is the question running through my mind this Sunday evening.  What did I do this weekend?  Well, Hubby and I went to one of the Officer’s Clubs for Karaoke last night and I sang my butt off.  It was fun but I was a bit hoarse this morning after singing over twenty songs with barely any breaks the night before.  It was fun though.  A Marine lawyer requested a few songs from me.  This guy was all about the 80’s tunes so to appease him I sang Laura Branigan’s GLORIA, The Eurythmics’ SWEET DREAMS and Boonie Tyler’s HOLDING OUT FOR A HERO from the Footloose Soundtrack.  Hubby’s old boss used to love to hear me sing the later one.  

Today, Hubby and I went to Gordie’s Burgers for lunch and then we ran errands.  Dog food at the PX and grocery shopping at the commissary.  I made one of Robin Miller’s Quick Fix Meals recipes for dinner tonight.  She’s on Food Network and I tried her Crispy Pork Fried Rice dish.  This was the first recipe of Robin’s that I’ve made and it turned out very well.  Though next time I will use a little less minced ginger.  The ginger overpowered all the other flavors that I really wanted to taste but all in all, it was very good and easy to make. 

Before making dinner I finished reading Driving Sideways by Jess Riley.  I really enjoyed this book and now have the hankering to take a nice, long road trip.  Unfortunately the longest road trip I can make right now is from one end of Okinawa to the other which is only about sixty-nine miles.  I will post my review of Driving Sideways later this week. 

Remember that you still have a day left to enter my giveaway contest for my ARC of Allison Winn Scotch’s Time of My Life.  You can check out my review and enter the contest HERE.  I will be hosting two more giveaways this week so be sure to keep checking back here to see what I have up my sleeve.   

2 thoughts on “Sunday Salon ~ September 21st, 2008

  1. I’m not sure if you received my comment a few days ago, but I wanted to let you know that you were the winner in my Sweet Love giveaway during BBAW last week. The post showing your win is here. Congratulations!

    I do need you to email me with your mailing information so I can send the book to you.

Leave a Reply

